Favorite Books for and About Nursing

One of my committments as a nurse is to keep up a reading practice and stay current with issues, trends and the lastest information I can find about nurses and nursing.  I subscribe to Linked In, Facebook and Twitter as well as several professional organizations that send me daily briefings.  For example, the ANA sends a simple list of headlines that are in categories ranging from HealthCare industry news to legislative updates to clinical developments.  I can open the link to each item and read a short piece to stay up to date.  I also subscribe to several journals that are relevant to nursing education which is my current practice area.  I also try to attend at least 2 professional conferences each year.  None of this makes me an expert but it does help me stay current.  I have also begun to attend free webinars that are sponsored by various healthcare organizations.  Today I attended a one hour lecture on State Requirements for approval of distance education programs in nursing.  The four speakers had the latest information on this complex issue.  The webinar was developed by the American Association of Colleges of Nursing and I was able to attend from my computer.  What resources do you use to stay current?  Please  post your ideas and any resources you would like to recommend. Thanks Diann

Leave a Reply

